Permanent Committee

The Permanent Committee of Supervision on Scheldt Navigation (PC) is the highest organ in the organization of the Joint Nautical Management. It is responsible for a safe and smooth shipping traffic in the River Scheldt area. The PC was established in execution of Art. 9 § 2 of the treaty dated 19 April 1839 arranging the separation between Netherlands and Belgium. This article lays down that navigation on the River Scheldt, pilotage and buoyage will be subject to joint supervision, executed by common commissioners. Execution of common supervision is regulated by the Scheldt Regulations of 11 January 1995.


It has become standard practice for the Belgian government (or Flemish government since 1990) and the Dutch government to each appoint two committee members. Up until 1856, there was only one Dutch member of the permanent committee.
Current members of the committee:
For the Netherlands:
Mr M. Van Kruiningen , Director of the Maritime Affairs Department of the Directorate-General for Mobility
Ms W. Dekker, Chief Engineer-Director of the Sea and Delta Department of the Directorate-General for Public Works and Water Management

For Flanders:
Mr F. Boelaert Secretary-General of the Department for Mobility and Public Works
Ms N. Balcaen, Administrator-General of the Agency for Maritime and Coastal Services

J. Hollaers, Dutch secretary of the Permanent Committee
S. Van de Velde, Flemish secretary of the Permanent Committee